Long Phung: The Last Lap


It’s been some time since my last post, but I’ve been off stuffing myself silly in the Gulf of Thailand, and with all that seafood, green curry, Tom Yam soup and beer (not to mention the rich slab of chocolate cake we brought with us), I’ve ….groan… had a little trouble looking at more food than neccessary after each meal.

But I NEED to wrap up my ‘review’ of Long Phung because it’s one of the few saving graces of Vietnamese food in Singapore and I think ANY Viet food lover who can’t get to Vietnam should pay them a visit.

These are the rice/noodle dishes I thought were worth eating:

MUST TRY: Braised Fish in Claypot (Ca Kho To)

The beauty of this dish lies in it’s warm richness. It’s a combination of fish (usually fatty catfish) and belly pork, braised in a liquid gold sauce of carmelised sugar and nuoc mam.

It’s a simple sauce, commonly used in Vietnamese braise dishes, in one form or another. But the taste…oh the taste…thick, salty sweet, strong… Flavours that cleave to the tastebuds and never let go. Perfect with rice and the stuff rainy-day daydreams are made of. While researching the dish, I came across a step by step instruction of how create the carmelised sugar here.  It’s informative and interesting. Definitely worth a check-out.

Catfish is used for it’s semi-oily flesh. Flavourwise, I find it stands up wonderfully to the fattiness of the belly pork. Tiny, crisp lardons add another layer of fat flavour and a difference in texture.

I ate more rice in my one week Thai trip than I usually do in a month. Most people will think that’s weird because rice is such a staple of the Asian diet. Not if one is trying to stay away from unwanted carbs though. But sometimes, you just cannot run from your culinary heritage. No matter how hard you try. Especially when that heritage involves something that tastes as goood as fluffy white rice soaking up a wonderful savoury gravy …

Notice how the sauce coats every grain of rice? There’s something about it that’s just comforting to the palate – the clean taste of rice mixed with the flavour-burst of the accompanying sauce – and you can feel the grains on your tongue. Individual yet part of a whole mouthful of textures and tastes. How can a person resist such a thing?

I’ve once again borrowed from my favourite Vietnamese foodies, Ravenouscouple, for their recipe for Ca Kho To.

Now for the oodles of noodles

Bun Mam – Thick noodles in a soup that has a salty sour note – almost like fermented fish, prawns or some sort of seafood – which I believe is one of it’s flavourings. Served with lots of herbs – just like in Vietnam

I like taking photos of nuggets of crispy roast pork…eating one is like finding a treasure in your soup bowl

Pho Bo…not bad for outside Viet

Saved the best for last – Spice beef vermicelli soup – heavy and redolent with cinammon and star anise. Definitely a MUST TRY!

Carrots add a sweetness to the soup too

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

2 comments

  1. Your blog is like a dream I never want to wake up from! :-p
    Love the photos in this post especially that pork belly and catfish dish. Wonderful.

    • Miz Dee

      Hey there! nice to see you back ;) those photos near kill me too especially when i’m hungry. like now ;) I’m dying to see what you’re going to post next…

Leave a Reply

