A New Year’s Contemplation


I’m feeling restless in 2010. Last year ended with a lovely white Christmas holiday but now it’s back to reality and it feels harsh. Too harsh for me to face without wanting to bury my head in a bowl of pasta (or to be proverbial about it, some sand).

I’ve also been reminiscing about some of the good meals I recently had – like the steak in Gorgonzola sauce in Ristorante Rusticone, a small trattoria in Stuttgart, Germany.

The meat was perfectly done. Meltingly tender and pink inside, its buttery texture nicely complimented by a perfectly seared, crusty exterior. I really love the contrast of food textures and the sweetness of carmelised meat and animal fat. Just thinking about it makes my eyes want to roll back into my head and my jaw fall open (bearing a striking resemblence to Homer Simpson when he says “Mmmm doughnuts…”). The sauce was a work of art – creamy and rich and redolent of the Gorgonzola’s pungency. And there was a hint of nuttiness from the butter it was cooked in. Browned butter, smelly blue cheese…oh my stars! There isn’t anything on this planet that could taste better than that.

Mr T, who had conservatively ordered asparugus and shrimp pasta, stared eviously across the table as I cut my steak into delicate, pink, bite sized pieces, smothering each piece in its own juices and the sauce. Needless to say, we ended up sharing my meal. But this being ‘ang mo’ portions, there was more than enough for both of us. (Also because I’d had an entree of Tagliatelle with Alba white truffles…sluuuurp).

So onward I go. Bouyed by the memory of food like this, and the anticipation of more such meals in the company of good friends – not forgetting all the little (and big, flaming) drinkies that lubricate all good times.

Ristorante Rusticone

Kesselstrasse 29, 70327 Stuttgart Wangen

T: 0711/4708119

http://www.ristorante-rusticone.de

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

Leave a Reply

