Lazy solution to the French Fry – Roasted chips


Fries. Adore them.

But just tooo lazy to bother with deep frying (including double frying and getting fancy with duck fat et al). So I just whack them on a roasting pan and pop them in the oven for 45 min.

To jazz them up a little, I use a Truffle oil and add a few sprigs of Rosemary.

And voila! Today’s lunch.

I tried both kinds of potatoes: the starchy ones that are supposedly good for roasting due to the ‘drier’ quality; and the waxy type which are wetter and have more sugar, therefore browning and burning before they can become crisp on the outside.

I found that the waxy ones were actually tastier than the starchy Russet Burbanks I used (though maybe it wasn’t much of a comparison as Mr Blumenthal disses Russets completely in his book). I avoided the waxy ones going prematurely burnt by roasting them at a low 150 C for the 1st 30 mins before ramming the heat up to 200 for the final 15 mins.

For a more balanced diet: Some golden cherry tomatoes for vitamins :)

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

Leave a Reply

