When It’s Cold and Wet, Simple Food to Warm the Soul


When the weather is cool and rainy like it’s been this Easter weekend, most people find comfort in a bowl of hot soup.

I’m not hot about soup.  In fact, cold weather makes me crave rich, tasty food. So I blame the weather for making me eat  two lunches in a day.

First, a beautiful golden tonkatsu tenderloin with grated radish and a dash of ponzu, followed by a bowl of spicy ramen.

Given the public display of excess at lunch, I decided despite the prolonged evening drizzle, to have a conservative dinner.

Conservative a meal may be, but it doesn’t have to lack richness or taste. Sometimes even the most simple food can send one’s palette into sensory overdrive. On the top of my list is buttered English muffins – one of my rainy day, stay-home staples.

My mouth waters copiously when I think about slathering on creamy butter that melts onto the hot muffin, releasing a wonderfully rich aroma. And then, to add a punch of flavour, a thin spread of salty Marmite. I can almost feel the crunch of the toasted top which contrasts nicely with the dense, chewy inside.  Oh…uh…oh…uh…oh…

2013 update:

I love the ultra gimmicky Marmite Gold edition which has tiny flecks of gold coloring. It has a rather mellow flavour compared to marmite and is perfect to spread over a hot buttered crumpet! When you bite into one, it’s little wells of buttery, salty goodness just ooze onto your tongue. Mmmph!

IMG_2024 (620x800)IMG_2246 (800x600)

 

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

4 comments

  1. The way you talk about food is enough to make me want to recreate your amazing meals! I can almost taste the English muffins. Add in the photos and I’m done! Loving it.

  2. Haha, I think that it’s awesome how your entire blog is an ode to good food. And not shamcy-fancy tiny portioned good food, but largely-plated tummy-warming everyone-has-access-to good food ;]

    • Miz Dee

      Haha! Was just lamenting how my blog could never compare with some others that have such gorgeous pics they seem to have come straight from a magazine. But it’s never really been my style. I’m more of a tell it like it is and then start eating kinda person. So I’m glad there are ppl out there who like it! :)

      btw – ur blog is pretty entertaining too. I LOVE how u made cake in a mug! it rocks!

Leave a Reply

