Long Phung: A Plate of Vietnam in Singapore


As a lover of Vietnamese food, it’s hard to swallow the crap that’s served in many pseudo Viet restaurants in Singapore.

I’ve searched a long time for Viet food that could pass as even slightly authentic with no success…until I heard from my friends Steph &G about Long Phung Vietnamese restaurant that is very popular with the Vietnamese community. The community of Vietnamese women who work in the bars around Joo Chiat – and their ‘uncle’ boyfriends that is…

But what the hey…when you find good Vietnamese food where you least expect to, you celebrate, not judge.

And this is exactly what the next few posts are going to be …  A celebration of good Viet food in Sing…until such time as I can make it back to Vietnam.

Let’s start with some ‘appetisers’:

MANGO SALAD with PRAWN and PORK

Refreshing tart green mangoes tossed in a dressing of fish sauce and sugar. It’s guaranteed to make your mouth water.

Fresh Salad Rolls

Translucent, delicate rice paper skin packed with ‘bun’ (rice vermicelli), fresh green herbs, prawns and pork. Not my favourite dish here. The noodles are a bit too soft and there aren’t enough herbs in the roll.

Fried Chicken Wings Marinated in Fish Sauce

Well fried but VERY normal. Guess it goes down well with the girls’ and uncles’ beers. DON’T EAT it with the accompanying sauce of salt, fish sauce, pepper and chilli though. It’s salty enough to preserve a basket of fish.

It’s packed from early dinnner to late supper with girls (and uncle boyfriends) either going-to-the-bar or coming-from-the-bar. Lunch is a good time if you want it a bit more relaxed. Opens from 1pm onwards.

 PS. For more Long Phung posts, read the next 2 posts.

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

5 comments

  1. mmm…that fried chicken looks amazing. Love that golden brown color. Miz Dee I have chosen your blog for an “over the top” award. I was given one and in return had to pass the award on to 5 blogs that I love. Naturally yours is one of them. For proper rules see my blog post titled “over the top”. Mostly its just a fun way of recognizing others’ cool stuff.

  2. Hi Denise :)

    Is it just me or is practically everything in Singapore starting to feel like pseudo this, that and the other?! Too much pandering to local tastes, if you ask me :P

    This place sounds like a gem (Viet ladies and uncle “boyfriends” notwithstanding ROFL *sigh* Soooooooo hard not to judge……….. at least a teeny bit :D

    • Miz Dee

      Hey Denise,
      Thanks for the kind words about my blog. I really, and I mean really, appreciate it! It’s nice to know that there are pple out there reading and enjoying my adventures. I guess, no matter how non-egoistic we try to be, all of us would like some kind of recognition ;)

      Re my blogroll: Yes, I only list the blogs that I think are unique and that I really enjoy reading. Of course I think yours is one of them! I think you’re a wonderful, entertaining writer and great photographer – not to mention a foodie after my own heart!

      Just a tip on Long Phung before you go there…it’s become increasingly popular with locals these last few months, so be prepared the standard has become a little compromised and the tastes ever so slightly more ‘pseudo’. Better go soon before it turns your average pho 21. Am taking a friend there next week. You’re most welcome to join us if you’d like to check it out :)

  3. Hi Again – I just noticed that I’m on your blogroll! Geez, thanks! I do appreciate it. Been meaning to update my blogroll and put so many more blogs in it (yours definitely included) but my host site is riddled with gremlins and always bests me when I try to change anything about it
    *grrr*

    You are amazing – one of the few beacons among Singy foodies/bloggers, if you ask me :) and I’m proud to be on your blogroll!

    denise

Leave a Reply

