World Cup Feasting: Comfort for the Italians


After Italy’s hopes for the Cup were dashed in their dramatic but inevitable loss to Slovakia last week, I’m guessing they’re going to be in major need of some comfort food, either that or crying into their pasta.

I will miss those Italian boys. Sure they weren’t very good – nor very good looking – this year, but for sentiment’s sake (it was the Italians who first dribbled their way into my heart in 2002 and got me interested  in the World Cup) I’m sorry to see them go.

With their departure, my friend K and I had to find other ways to whet our appetites. We’ve been whipping up some tasty Italian dishes of our own.


Cannelloni with ricotta and sausage in creamy tomato and wine

I used my baked pasta recipe for this and just swapped large pasta shells for cannelloni. When the pasta baked long enough, the grill made the top nice and crunchy.

And because there’s no better dish for a warm summer day, we had some plump tomatoes and mozarella with our very own basil. There was just something perfect about having this dish at this moment. It was light and refreshing in the warm sun. The richness of olive oil mixed with the sweet tang of balsamico, perfumed with the fragrance of the basil ….mmmm…..

Cooking with Karen: Roast red pepper soup and Salmon Cream pasta

And as the sun went down and the air became a little chilly, it was nice to have something warm and hearty.

Salty salmon and gorgonzola with lots of black pepper on curly bucatini.

Pasta that’s perfectly al dente. It really put a spring into each bite!

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

4 comments

  1. food is always a good way to forget pain!

    • Miz Dee

      hahaha! i couldn’t agree with you more. I wonder what the Italian team is eating now? imagine it would be super yummy.

  2. That spread would certainly cheer me up – especially the creamy salmon bucatini. I am and always will be a carb girl ;)

    • Miz Dee

      Me too! I love it all. Pasta, bread, potatoes, noodles, rice….not great for the waistline, but it’s pretty impossible to resist. If you know of a solution, pls share it ;)

Leave a Reply

