World Cup Feasting: Japaaaan Noooo-dles


I don’t think I’ve ever been so affected by a football game before.  I didn’t think I cared much for football at all – until I watched Japan bravely hold Paraguay at a draw for 120 minutes and then lose by missing just one goal in a penalty shootout. Watching the ball bounced off the top bar of the goalpost, and later the goalie’s face when Paraguay shot their last ball into the net, I didn’t think I’d feel such devastation for a country that’s not even mine. But as the only Asian team representing in the Round of 16, they had my full support. They still do. And I’m still a bit depressed. Have to…eat something…

Some people swear by instant noodles as a hangover cure. Maybe this will help the mini depression that’s hanging over me now.

Instant noodles. Created by the Japanese (actually Taiwanese Japanese) founder of Nissin Noodles. Embraced by the world.

Miss K cooked me some the other day, Mee Goreng flavour, with prawns, egg, cucumber and lashings of kitchap manis. SHIOK!

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

2 comments

  1. There is nothing like instant noodles. They’re so delicious every time. I’ve been trying to avoid them just because of how they deep fried and all, but they smell so good sometimes… I like how yours look even more delicious with the addition of prawns, eggs, and cucumbers ;] I like the ones with the soup.

    • Miz Dee

      Yeah I don’t eat them often either, but eaten once in a while they taste pretty awesome – espescially with a hangover ;) There are these Tom Yam flavoured ones from PaPa – a Thai brand I think. If you can get them in Canada (is that where u are?) u should check it out. The soup is kickass!

Leave a Reply

