Obsession with a Spamwich


One of the most unhealthy processed foods I can think of is luncheon meat. It’s also one of the foods I think of when I need a little bit of comfort. And now, being away from family and friends, I need a little bit of that, so indulge me while I indulge in the happy memory of a ‘spam’ sandwich I had a little while back.

It all came together one day when I got my hands on a can of Ma-ling luncheon meat and a freshly baked Butter Loaf from Crystal Jade. A fried egg, a dash of japanese mayonnaise and ketchup…and of course a few slices of luncheon meat – grilled golden and crispy…

…was all it took to make a monster sandwich of cholestoric proportions!

To add texture to the bread, which became too soft for my liking after a few bites, I spread a little of the spam grease on one side and grilled them on a hot griddle.

Hot, crispy, juicy, greasy, oozing with sauce…I LIKE!

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

5 comments

  1. Reg

    Omg!!that looks so so gd….it’s almost sinful jus looking at it

  2. Jia lat! Jia lat!! Aiyoh – that is cholesterol hell and sandwich heaven! Just looking at it is filling my head with impure thoughts :D

    I want one sooooooo bad right now. Spam grease!?! I love you girl!!! Sorry to hear you’re missing home :( Hope the memory of that glorious sandwich helped to ease the pain a little……

  3. MMM. One of the things that I adored to eat as a kid was fried spam with white rice. So good! I would never have thought of putting spam grease on the bread to grill and crisp it up–that’s awesome. I feel so sad when people outright reject crazy stuff like this–they don’t know what they’re missing ;p

  4. bug

    hey jie….don’t know if you’ll even get this cause its an old post…..i just tried these luncheon meat chips that milf rec….super!

    • Miz Dee

      can u believe they don’t sell spam here? there’s pork and sausage meat everywhere but no spam…which reminds me to check next time i go to the asian gorcery

Leave a Reply

