Hello Again World


Some animals hibernate in the winter and come out to play when it gets warm. It seems to be the other way around for me. The constantly falling snow has awoken my inner greedy beast – which had gotten buried under a big pile of dead leaves…i mean…papers, books, readings, discussions, presentations etc – and I think I’m ready to come out and play again. Who cares that there are 3 tests and presentations waiting for me after the break? Hopefully I don’t come to regret those words…

The days have whizzed by and last 3 months have been a whirlwind. Now it’s almost the end of the year…but there’s no time to wax lyrical because Christmas is almost upon us.

There are visitors to be entertained, a huge menu to be planned and a looong shopping list to be made. Not forgetting the actual shopping with a hundred other Christmas shoppers – imagine trying to wield a heavy, uncooperative cart around while trying to avoid being crushed by falling jars of red cabbage and irate mothers. The very thought chills more than winter snow…

But as I said…no time to wax lyrical…so here’s a quick whizz through of some of the autumnal highlights we experienced.

I think fall is named so because of the leaves, don’t you?

Flame tree

‘Tis the season for pumpkins, squash and Brussel sprouts (Rosenkohl in die Deutsch):

Such vibrant fall colours make you want to bring the same to the table

For a while we were having roasted pumpkin at least once a week til we were turning orange at the sight of them. The Brussels ended up in a creamy white wine sauce. It was so delicious that we finished it before we could take a picture…actually that happened with most of our meals…

For Denise Fletcher: Pear and Gorgonzola sandwich to go with the pumpkin. I pressed it in the waffle maker and it made a mess when the cheese melted out.

Or how about cream-coloured carrots?

They were just screaming to be shaved and tossed into a salad

Wait a minute…that WAS the salad…

Carrot Salad…kekeke

But my favourite of the season had to be Federweisser, “Feder” meaning feather and “Weisser” meaning white. It’s a slightly alcoholic wine that comes from freshly pressed grape must (or juice) from the new harvest – usually the grapes that aren’t good enough to make it into the wine bin.  Sugar is added and while it’s still fermenting it’s sold in unsealed bottles, which you take home and wait for a week before you drink it.

It’s sold starting with 4% alcohol but the longer you let it ferment, the higher the alcohol content develops, sometimes up to 10% – I usually can’t wait that long. It gives me a real kick because I love the feeling that something I’m about to consume is still in the process of developing.

It tastes just like grape juice but with an alcoholic kick. It’s light, bubbly and refreshing, deceptively easy to drink. I usually find myself gulping it down because once those sweet bubbles hit my tongue, it sends a signal to my brain that tells me I need more.

I drank half a bottle for lunch one day and then passed out on the couch while trying to read a business strategy text…oh wait…I’m not sure if it was the Federweisser or the text…anyway, it’s traditionally eaten with an onion and bacon tart.

We were too lazy to make the tart so settled for a bacon-onion omelette instead.

 

This tiny slice of autumn is only what I’ve managed to document…we’ve been eating a lot more but just never had time or patience or the right light for pictures. For instance, we’ve been trawling the fresh markets for cheese and meat; looking for good food in the surrounding neighbourhoods; experimenting with more home-cooked food like crispy pork belly, thai-style fried rice, cinammon-spiced lamb lasagna; on chilly nights: burning our tongues on baked pasta;  grilling the hell out of the oven (thought the paper-thin slices of roast aubergine that came out of that were worth it) and pressing the life out of the waffle maker (which I am now banned from using).

And for now, I think I’m going to concentrate on not burning down the house as I prepare a Christmas-eve dinner for 2 and a Christmas dinner for 10…

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

One comment

  1. Hey Dee!
    Did you know that Autumn is my favourite season and yet, I have never experienced it *sigh* Thanks for the envy inducing pics, and that gorgeous oozy sandwich :D

    The Christmas spirit seems to have bypassed me this year – just can’t get into the mood. Christmas shopping’s not done, kids are looking decidedly shaggy (I love it personally but grandma will FREAK!) and seriously need haircuts, no menu in sight. Only thing I’ve got done is the tree. Tonight I’ll play carols and drink till I pass out ;) Tomorrow I’ll go shopping and bring home a big roast for dinner on the eve.

    Btw- love the look of that Federweiser. Sounds much too easy to drink *hic*

Leave a Reply

