Berlin Diary: Lunch Quickies I


It’s all about value-for-money lunches these days. Thankfully Berlin is a mecca  for good, cheap food.

Dolce Pizza near Rathaus Schoneberg is a great favourite for hungry, cold people. It’s not fancy – just a brick-walled dining area with tables and benches, and a counter where you can choose ready made pizza slices or make your own pizza to order – but the pizza is very good. I always get the specialty meter-long pizza which can be divided into 3 portions with different toppings.

Before everyone thinks I’m getting greedier, this giant pizza is always shared with one or 2 other people

The pizza is very, very good – oops did I already say that?

Fresh vegetables, spicy salami and cured ham generously top a thin, chewy crust. Each on hand-made by some young dudes with thick gold chains and gelled-up hair who answer to names like Francesco.

My favourite toppings are:

Spicy Salami and mushrooms

Parma ham with rucola and parmesano

Brinjal and spring onion

And there’s always a little bit left over for a small dinner or the next day’s breakfast

The mark of a good pizza is that it’s just as good when it’s cold

Dolce Pizza Inh. Massimiliano Franzini Pizzeria
Belziger Straße 73
10823 Berlin, Germany
Tel: 030 43205611
There 4-5 Dolce Pizza’s in the the Schoneberg/ Charlottenberg and Kruezberg areas.
Check their website for more details

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

3 comments

  1. Oh my goodness….this took me a while. But you’re in BERLIN?! What?! Crazy cool! I’m looking forward to reading your future posts since you might still have the wide-eyed noob excitement of being in a different country, ahah. How long have you been in here? I have sadly not found that pork rib soup yet…I need to write the name of it down and look for it in an asian restaurant. …german pizza….

  2. …I had just accidentally commented using my sister’s account. But it was me ;D

    • Miz Dee

      try the Asian food store too. maybe u will find sachets of premixed herbs for the soup. look for “rou gu cha” or “bak kut teh” and good luck!

Leave a Reply

