Breakfast Club: Smoked Trout Open-faced Sandwich


Sunday brunch is a big thing in Berlin. Normal restaurants, cafes (and even some bars – very bad idea)  turn into all day fruhstuck (breakfast) buffets serving up endless platters of cold-cuts, salads, bread, fruits, crepes, desserts, and hot-plates of pasta and eggs.

Having been to a few of these, I’ve become weary and wary of the same old, run  of the mill, bad food, hungry crowds and tight, squishy cafes trying to squeeze more diners than the space will hold. I’ve heard there are some nice ones around (which I will write about when I find) but for now, I’m inclined to think breakfasts at home are so much nicer…especially when you have someone to make them for you…and it’s the only place where you’re guaranteed a seat by a sunny window!

Pigout on Cold-cuts, Cheese, the everlasting bottle of Nutella and something new to try – Smoked trout

Pink flaked trout on  rye. A thin spread of horseradish and strips of pickled carrot complete the sandwich.

The sweet that Mr T cannot do without

Think I’m going to start a series of Breakfast club posts and would like to invite anyone else with delicious contributions to send them along, and I’ll post them as part of the series :)

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

Leave a Reply

