Leftovers Pasta


No it’s not a typo. It was pasta made from a bunch of leftovers that were sitting around in my kitchen.

After the 100th time of heard the words “If you don’t clear the fridge, do you think the food is just going to magically disappear?”, I decided to save myself another ear-ache and eye-roll and whip up a quick lunch with the darned things.

A quick rummage through the fridge unearthed
– 250 g minced beef/pork (marinated in oyster sauce, soy, pepper, finely diced onions and carrots, for some meatballs we had last night)
– a handful of white button mushrooms (from a salad we ate with the meatballs)
– 50 ml whipped cream (from cream I’d whipped to eat with my chocolate cake breakfast)
-100 ml white wine (from making a bolognaise some days earlier)
– 250 g fusilli and penne

Whenever Chinese mothers have left overs, they turn it into fried rice the next day, but this odd assortment didn’t really lend itself to fried rice. Chinese style mince yes, but whipped cream? I didn’t think so. Given that I still had a few uncooked handfuls of different pastas sitting in almost empty boxes, I nixed the fried rice in favour of a pasta dish.

– First I heated a little oil in the pan and fried the minced meat until brown and crispy – a hot pan, minimal stirring will brown the meat without overcooking it.
– I removed the meat from the pan and sautéed the mushrooms with some garlic and butter in the remaining oil and meat juices.
– Once the mushrooms were cooked down a little, I added the cream and wine, together with some dried oregano and thyme, salt and pepper and let simmer for 20 mins; adding a little milk when looked too dry.
– After 20 minutes, I boiled 200 g of pasta and when it was very al dente, combined it with the sauce, meat and a sprinkling of cheese and let it cook a little more until the pasta was just right.

It was so good, there weren’t any leftovers.

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

4 comments

  1. That’s beautiful, a dish made out of leftovers. Y’know how some people roast a chicken and then use it for everything from soups to wraps? I never do that. Y’know all those asian bbq meat dishes? I always eat them with rice until one day, I realized that they can go in anything…

Leave a Reply

