Rich Dad, Poor Dad Sushi II


For all those in the ‘poor dad’ category who, like myself, aren’t always willing to shell out $300 for a meal at Ginza Ichi or it’s pricey counterparts all isn’t lost. Hope hovers* in the form of the small and very commercial Itacho Sushi. Now I thought I would be the last person to find my sushi bliss here but my mind was totally changed when I tried it out

IMG_0755Here is my experience with the subtle hints of umami and combinations of flavour that make for great satisfaction in a sushi meal and keep me coming back for more at Itacho.

– A hint of yuzu grated onto piece of yellow tail that introduce a slight citrus sensation to the palate

– The coldness of ikura atop a mouthful of warm rice, the pop and release of briny nectar as each pearl breaks against the roof of your mouth

– The sweetish, vinegarish combination of mirin and vinegar in the rice set off by the sweet-saltiness of the soy sauce

– A whiff of charred fat in seared wagyu sushi, rounded off by the sweetness of its glaze

– The crunch of texture in flounder dorsal, its clean taste on the palate enriched with a hint of fatty sweetness

IMG_0750 (692x1024)

*Because Itacho is so commercial, don’t expect super service, wonderful presentation or consistent quality on all your visits. (There were a few weeks that I gave up going because they had changed their chef, but after feedback from some ‘discerning diners’ they changed him back, so all ended well.) A dining experience there could turn out to be more of a ‘wham bam thank you mam’ one (only with raw fish involved)…unless you know WHICH outlet to go to, and WHEN they get their twice weekly fish deliveries. For the dish on that dirt PM me directly.

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

Leave a Reply

