Surprising Phoon Huat: Not just a store for bakers


I’m not a baker. I love to improvise too much to be a good one. The closest I’ve come to handling dough and enjoying it, has been to roll out store-bought pastry for sausage rolls. It was very therapeutic, rolling out the dough, but then I discovered that you can buy already rolled sheets – and that was the end of that. So the baking supply store Phoon Huat has held no interest for me – until I found out about their a small and inexpensive cheese selection.

IMG_2012 (800x600)The first unexpected find was a scrumptious, mature Welsh Cheddar from the Snowdonia Cheese Company.

IMG_2013 (600x800)

Each truckle (don’t you just love that word?) costs around S$6.50. Not a bad price compared to the daylight robbery happening in cold storage!

Called the Little Black Bomber, it was recommended by a friend who had tried it in England and couldn’t forget its sharp, intense, unctuous flavour.

IMG_2019 (768x1024)

Paired simply with one of Maison Kayser’s fragrant baguettes – you don’t really need anything else…

IMG_2033 (1024x768)

…although a little bit of ham, avocado and tomato never hurt anyone.

I also picked up a few other cheeses from Snowdonia, the most outstanding of which was a Red Leicester with chillis and crushed pepper. It had a spicy, nutty tang with notes of cumin – perfect with a round white loaf from Paul’s. – which I smuggled into a karaoke session at K-box.

Besides the Snowdonia cheeses, I also picked up a soft and creamy, fresh goat’s cheese – salty and tart – and some frozen puff pastry (30% cheaper than Cold Storage). I a made Mary Berry’s goat’s cheese, red pepper and fresh thyme galette for a picnic and it was a great success. There was still some left-over for a goat’s cheese, bacon, onion puff for lunch the next day.

IMG_2162 (600x800) IMG_2169 (1024x768)Turns out I could be a baker after all.

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

Leave a Reply

