Greedy thoughts, Greedy thoughts


It’s been a while since my last entry, and a lot has happened. One thing hasn’t changed though, the thoughts I have about food –  Before, During and After – Desire, Satisfaction (sometimes immense satisfaction) and Discomfort (if I’ve eaten too much, which happens a fair bit…don’t really know why).

Today, I’ve been thinking about the omakase (“I’ll leave it to you”) meal that I’ll be having at Teppei tonight. Words like lust, longing, salivating (yes! lots of salivating), tantalizing, sensory, pleasure, savour, adventure, anticipation, climactic, only begin to describe what I’ve been feeling the entire day.

By chance we managed to get ourselves into this tiny (not more than 20 seater) Japanese hole-in-the-wall when someone cancelled their reservation, which are usually made three months in advance – to explain the build-up of anticipation which I’ve been experiencing the whole day.

If dinner is anything like what I had for lunch there some time ago, simple, honest, authentic, soulful and incredibly reasonably priced, then I think tonight is going to come to a climactic end.

For a sneak peek, here is the lunch we enjoyed:

Marinated sashimi of tuna, salmmon and cooked octopus and a white fish of some kind on a rice bowl.

Image

ImageImage

Tempura, fried to order, crispy and hot. Perfect with a dollop of rice

ImageImage

About Mizdee

Food, food, food. Apart from love, it's the other thing that makes the world go round. When I'm sad it's a comfort, when I'm happy it's a celebration and when I'm not hungry, it's just greediness. But hey! Why not? Life is short too pass up a good meal.

Leave a Reply

